News from January 2009

Dr. Karrie Shogren wins Council for Exceptional Children award for research paper
January 7, 2009

MCPER’s Dr. Karrie Shogren has won this year’s Council for Exceptional Children Division for Research (CEC-DR) Early Career Publication Award for her paper Examining Individual and Ecological Predictors of the Self-Determination of Students With Disabilities. Shogren will receive the award, which carries a $1,000 honorarium, at the CEC Conference on April 3 in Seattle. The Early Career Publication Award “recognizes the critical role of research to both current practice in and the future of the field of Special Education . . . [and] recognizes individuals who have made outstanding scientific contributions in special education, in basic and/or applied research, within the first 10 years following receipt of the doctoral degree,” according to the CEC-DR website.

News from December 2008

Stephanie Stillman, Assessment Coordinator for the CSR and CREATE projects, becomes Dr. Stephanie Stillman
December 10, 2008

MCPER’s assessment coordinator for the CSR and CREATE projects successfully completed all requirements on December 10, 2008, to officially become Dr. Stephanie Stillman. Stillman is a graduate of the Religious Studies program at the University of California, Santa Barbara. Her dissertation is titled “Remembering the Cruelest Month: The Network, Labor, and Haunting of Memories of Columbine.” We congratulate her on this milestone and look forward to her continued success!

MCPER welcomes Dr. Sharon Jackson to its Board of Directors
December 9, 2008

MCPER welcomes Dr. Sharon Jackson to its Board of Directors. Jackson brings years of experience working in classrooms, in education service centers, at the district level in the Texas Education Agency, and with the Texas State Legislature. In addition, she has worked with professional organizations and other state entities, including the Governor’s Office. We look forward to working with her!

News from November 2008

Jennifer Heckert receives Texas Council for Exceptional Children’s 2008 Research Incentive Award
November 9, 2008

A former MCPER graduate research assistant, Jennifer Heckert, is the recipient of the Texas Council for Exceptional Children 2008 Research Incentive Award. She received a financial award from TCEC to help with her dissertation research and will present on her dissertation topic at the TCEC 2009 State Conference. She will also be featured in the October/Fall 2008 issue of the TCEC newsletter.

Deborah Reed wins spot on Doctoral Student Scholars in Special Education Research through national competition
November 9, 2008

Deborah Reed, a project manager at the Meadows Center and a doctoral student at The University of Texas at Austin, has been selected through a national competition to participate in the inaugural cohort of Doctoral Student Scholars in Special Education Research. In the Council for Exceptional Children Division for Research (CEC-DR) initiative, Reed and nine other doctoral scholars will participate in a series of online seminars aimed at showcasing their exemplary work and fostering communication among special education researchers. 

News from September 2008

Welcome to Angie Hairrell
September 10, 2008

It is our pleasure to welcome our new Meadows Fellow Dr. Angela Hairrell. Hairrell joins us from Texas A&M University in College Station, where she attained her Ph.D. in teaching, learning, and culture. Her dissertation is entitled A Two-Study Investigation of Research on Vocabulary Strategies and Their Implementation in Fourth-Grade Social Studies Classrooms.

News from August 2008

UT Announces the Opening of MCPER
August 10, 2008

The University of Texas announced the opening of The Meadows Center for Preventing Educational Risk (MCPER) on August 25, 2008.  Read the news article that was featured on the home page of UT’s Web site.

Workshop on Quasi-Experimental Design and Analysis in Education
August 9, 2008

One of our Research Associates, Dr. Saro Mohammed, was recently invited to attend a workshop on Quasi-Experimental Design and Analysis in Education.  Invitations were based on a selective application process. The workshop, featuring Dr. Thomas D. Cook and Dr. William Shadish, was hosted by the Institute for Policy Research at Northwestern University and sponsored by the Spencer Foundation.